RSS

What do you expect?

02 Jul

6/2/15

Neurosurgery clinic called today. The doctor returned, reviewed Garrett’s file, and would like to see us tomorrow. Yes, tomorrow.

*This should have been my first clue, but I missed it.

6/3/15

As my husband is getting ready for work, he asks if I’m sure I don’t need him to go with us today.

Since Garrett has gotten older and can entertain himself play on the iPad independently, we typically conserve Bob’s paid time off/sick/vacation for when we absolutely have to use it or can truly enjoy it. I’ve been doing the kids appointments solo for quite some time, and almost prefer it that way.  It’s just easier for me to concentrate on getting one vehicle to the right destination on time than two. I know you get it.

I assure him I will be fine, but if he feels better going then he can come.

Do you and your husband do this?  Volley the question back and forth trying to be sensitive to the others needs and feelings, and both of you end up kinda exasperated about the whole thing? Yeah, that.

Bob poses the final question. “What do you expect to happen at the appointment?”

*This should have been clue number two.

Because our neurosurgeon is so conservative.

Because we’ve been down this road before.

Especially because the MRI wasn’t showing the “typical” indicators.

“He’s going to look at me, laugh, tell me how blessed we are to have such a high functioning SB kiddo and refer me to ortho and physical therapy.”

Keep in mind, all this time we’ve been praying, our people, and our church have all been praying.  Yes, sweet hand clasped prayers for healing and strength. But also feet hitting the pavement, running prayers of salty sweat and tears. Gut wrenching, sobbing prayers in the shower. Hours and hours of reading and praying God’s promises over every aspect of the situation.

For I am about to do something new. See, I have already begun! Do you not see it? I will make a pathway through the wilderness. I will create rivers in the dry wasteland. Isaiah 43:19 NLT

The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it. John 1:5 NIV

This is my command–be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid or discouraged. For the LORD your God is with you wherever you go. Joshua 1:9 NLT

forest_path_denmark

And God did make a path in our wilderness. Light shined in our darkness, and it did not overcome. And the Lord encouraged us and proved He was with us through all the love, support, and prayers of others.

The doctor, in no uncertain terms, indicated surgery to untether Garrett’s spinal cord was the best preventative and hopefully restorative action step.

What do you expect?

We expected God to show up. We didn’t know how, when, or what it would look like, we just waited expectantly and continue to do so.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 2, 2015 in Faith, Family

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
