RSS

Prayer for faithfulness

07 Sep

“For this command is a lamp, this teaching is a light, and correction and instruction are the way to life, keeping you from your neighbor’s wife, from the smooth talk of a wayward woman.” -Proverbs 6:23-24 (NIV)

Unfortunately, there have been a number of times when I have been emotionally “seduced” by the smooth talk of a wayward man.  In the past, my emotions were not something I knew how to control.  I still am not the best at this, but I am better than I used to be!

There a many reasons why we as women feel the way we do in and about our marriages.  For years I felt alone, neglected, unloved, etc. in my marriage and I allowed my emotions to convince me that if my husband loved me enough he would do   fill in the blank    and I wouldn’t be feeling this way.  Because feeling this way was obviously wrong!!

After much work on myself, my relationship with God, and our marriage I know all of those past feelings were way more about me than they were about my husband.  I recently read a blog post that helped me visualize and compare the way I used to live, to the way I try to live now.

Father, thank you for your grace and forgiveness.  Thank you for a husband who grants grace and forgiveness!  I pray your word is the driving force behind our life, that our faith in you and your word would be our fuel, and that our feelings are kept in check behind the Truth and our faith in it.  Keep us from allowing our emotions to run our life.  I pray Bob and I protect our hearts against inappropriate relationships and that our hearts be pure and undivided in our commitment to each other.  In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 7, 2012 in Blogging, Faith, Family

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
