RSS

Scars

01 Feb

There he found a man named Aeneas, who was paralyzed and had been bedridden for eight years.  “Aeneas,” Peter said to him, “Jesus Christ heals you. Get up and roll up your mat.” Immediately Aeneas got up.  All those who lived in Lydda and Sharon saw him and turned to the Lord. -Acts 9:33-35 (TNIV)

Almost 7 years ago I walked into an operating room, sat on the edge of the table while they stuck a needle in my spine, and allowed myself to be strapped down.  Even though I knew this day was coming, the day had arrived earlier than expected.  Once the anesthesiologist helped me control my nausea, they proceeded to cut open my abdomen and pull out my son.  We held hands for the first time with more than just our insides exposed.  I fell in love this time just as fully as I had before, but with only an instant to savor it.  Then we were separated so our individual teams of doctors could care for us.  With in an hour I was recovering, having been sewn back together, and he was on his way to get the same.

Our bodies forever marked by that day.  Scars that remind us of the miracles that come from thanksgiving.  Thanks for allowing conception, life, and love.  Scars that marked all of our hearts that as a family we are forever thankful for.

Jesus, we all have scars.  Some may still cause pain and remind us continually of every battle you have delivered us through.  I praise your deliverance.  I have scars that are in need of further healing.  Please heal me.  I love you. Amen.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 1, 2012 in Faith, Family

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
