RSS

Strongholds

25 Jan

“O Lord, like David, help me rejoice in Your strength and say of You, ‘How great is my joy in the victories You give!’  Father, please grant me the desire of my heart to be free from the strongholds in my life.  Do not withhold the request of my lips (Psalm 21:1-2).” -Beth Moore

I thought I would quote an example of how Beth uses actual scripture as prayer.  If you look up the verse you will see how she tweaks the words just a bit to personalize it.

I mentioned the other day that I started a new Tuesday night Bible study.  We watch a movie together, do 5 homework assignments throughout the week, and return the following Tuesday to discuss and watch the next movie.  This study is different from others I have done, because we truly examine our “issues”.  If you ask God to make you aware, then be ready!

A little over a year ago I lost my job.  I loved my job, my company, and my co-workers. Though I strongly disagree with the reasoning behind my dismissal, as time passes I see more and more how this was part of God’s plan for me.

A few months back, it dawned on me that before losing my job I thought I was in that position because of all I had done, of how great I was.  I felt entitled to my role and anxious for the next bigger and better position to showcase my abilities.  I resented any delay or struggle along the way.  I was good at my job, but I had gotten greedy and in a hurry to have everything exactly as I planned.  

Immediately after I lost my job, my thinking hadn’t changed much…  I had to fix this.  What was I going to do?  Slowly, the Holy Spirit helped me understand that I didn’t do any of it.  He put me in that position and He allowed me to be removed from it.  I had become a believer, but I had yet to place my trust in God.  I had to trust God to provide for me, to make His will known to me, to open the next door.  So I began working towards that and thought good progress was being made.

Then while doing my homework today I realized I still feel “less than” I was before.  I feel unsuccessful and have labelled myself a “non-contributor” to our family because my financial contributions are slim in comparison to before.

Though I still have moments when I beat myself up with negative self-talk about issues ranging from financial struggles to career indecision, my experiences in studying God’s Word over the past year have, and continue to, allow me to find new riches in my relationship with Jesus, my family, and friends.

O Lord, like David help me rejoice in Your strength and say of You. “How great is my joy in the victories you give!”  Father, please grant me the desire of my heart to be free from the strongholds in my life.  Do not withhold the request of my lips.  In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 25, 2012 in Faith, Family

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Strongholds

  1. Perrin Brown

    January 25, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    Great post Nanette! Everyone should read these!

     
  2. Perrin Brown

    January 25, 2012 at 10:52 pm

    The ending may have been some of the best writing I have EVER had the pleasure of reading!

     
  3. Sherry Haskin

    January 26, 2012 at 7:28 am

    I will bring that group through the fire and make them pure, just as gold and silver are refined and purified by fire. They will call on my name, and I will answer them. I will say, ‘These are my people,’ and they will say, ‘The Lord is our God.’” Zech 13:8-9

     

Leave a Reply

 
