RSS

Humble Before You

06 Jan

You may or may not know that I am a massage therapist.  Massage sessions with my clients have a variety of goals.  Some of them include relaxation, muscle tension, and pain relief.  Regardless of the goal, my job is to help my clients feel better than when they walked into the office.  I may not always fix what is going on with each client, for example- I think it is humanly impossible for 30 years of stress and tension to be wiped away in a one hour massage session.  I am confident that all of my clients leave feeling better than when they walked in.

When the clients do experience great healing during the massage session I find myself walking around with a puffed up chest.  Maybe even flaunting my tail like the peacock.

A short time ago, I started thinking of how blessed I am.  And one of the blessings I gave thanks for was my talent.  That during a massage session I just “know” what to do and the exact technique that client needs just “comes” to mind even though its not what I normally do, or even something I’ve ever done before!  The realization dawned… it is not me who does the healing.

Because I enjoy what I do, I repeatedly put myself in that position to serve others.  Because I have given my life to God for his glory, He uses it to heal them.  Often the healing is more than tissue, muscle or bone.

Lord, thank you for the many talents you have blessed me with.  Thank you for using me to heal others.  How awesome is your design!  Forgive my prideful ways.  Help me see this sin in other areas as clearly as you’ve shown me here.  Help me to be humble before you.  In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 6, 2012 in Faith

 

One response to “Humble Before You

  1. Steve Darner

    January 6, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    God you and Bob have helped Me more than You Know I am Blessed to be able to call you my friends and part of my family I love you all

     

Leave a Reply

 
