RSS

Unbelief

05 Jan

Immediately the boys father exclaimed, “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!” Mark 9:24

I love to pray!  I pray almost unceasingly throughout my day and wouldn’t be surprised to find I pray in my dreams.  In some instances I am asked to pray, in others I feel nudged to pray, and I even pray out of obedience.  Family and friends are included without much thought, my brothers and sisters in Christ a near second, but prayers for our governments, the economy, the wars in our world, the starving in Africa and those with out water in Haiti don’t come so naturally.

Tonight all those who are fighting are on my heart.  Fighting to go on after losing a spouse, fighting to celebrate 200 days of being sober, fighting for marriage, fighting to care for an elderly widowed mother, fighting cancer, fighting hunger, fighting obesity, fighting oppression, fighting to stand up for what’s right…  This list is by no means exhaustive, but it is a sampling of what I know many close to me are fighting as I’m sure around the world.

Lord, it is said in all four of the gospels, “your faith has healed you”.  I exclaim as the boys father, I do believe, but won’t you help me overcome my unbelief? I raise the prayers of all of these to you Father, that they may experience your goodness.  Help us all with our unbelief!  In His Sweet Name, Amen.


 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 5, 2012 in Faith

 

Leave a Reply

 
