RSS

A Year of Prayer

02 Jan

Everyone who enjoys writing knows the key to writing well is to write often.  I created this blog to do just that, but I have zero desire to group words together without meaning.  Since the habit of writing hasn’t taken hold, when a subject inspires me, I find posting my writings here a handful of times through the year unsatisfying.  I desire to share more.

Many trends in the blog world are to post their daily eats, daily workouts, a joy, happiness, or gratitude project and as much as I follow many blogs of each of these types, I struggled to find where I fit.  My niche.  What of purpose do I do everyday that when shared here not only could allow others to see me and hopefully themselves, but possibly experience God speaking or nudging them.  What daily writings could God possibly use for His purposes if it is His will?  My prayers.

My mind contemplated this for many days while I busied myself with the daily routines.  Many prayers questioning if this really was what I am supposed to do.  God speaks.  Often we fear what he says.  I am stepping out in faith that such raw vulnerability will bring Him glory.

Last year I received a daily devotional book in my Christmas stocking and found it helped bring a variety of subject matter to my Bible study and prayer time.  This may become tradition, as I received one this Christmas as well.  “Praying God’s Word Day by Day” by Beth Moore is what I’ll be using this year.  Like many I continually pray thanksgiving, praise, confession, and intercession for my family, friends, and circumstances around the world.  I won’t be sharing all of these, but promise to share something from that list each day.  I assure you if I actually hold on to this daily practice here with you, sharing too little will not be the problem!

Father- I pray that through this upcoming year you allow me to witness there is no other rock to cling to but you.  Allow me to hear your voice clear above all others and the wisdom to take action.  I ask for healing for Granny, healing as you will it.  In Jesus Name, Amen!

If anyone would like to share their prayers in the comments, the honor would be mine to pray for you.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 2, 2012 in Blogging, Faith

 

5 responses to “A Year of Prayer

  1. Dara

    January 2, 2012 at 2:03 am

    You’re so inspirational to me. I needed this. Please pray that God heals my brother and mother from cancer as he wills it and that surgery will clean my dad of his cancer with no further treatments. Thank you for your extra prayers. 🙂

     
    • Nanette

      January 2, 2012 at 10:28 pm

      Holy Spirit, thank you for nudging Dara to read this blog and share her prayers. I praise your working all for our good. It is difficult for our human hearts to desire anything but healing that keeps our loved ones with us. Give Dara and her family the strength needed to weather the storm set before them. Surround them with a positive support system and help them all hang on to hope. Comfort them in knowing that if delivering them through this fire isn’t your will that delivering them by this fire to you is an even greater healing. In His almighty name, as you will it, Amen.

       
  2. Randi Newcomb

    January 5, 2012 at 1:00 am

    What wonderful words of wisdom for us all, especially on this start of a new year. God is great and we all need to give him thanks on a daily basis. Thank you for sharing this with us and I am looking forward to reading more wonderful words. I will also add prayers for anyone who lists any, because God hears all. Thanks again this brings such warmth to my heart!

     
  3. Sherry Haskin

    January 5, 2012 at 11:17 pm

    You are right, Bobby. Your wife can write.
    “The Lord can use a yielded vessel in a mighty way”.
    It’s great to share your joy and faith, Nanette, and the transparency of your heart.
    Beth is a fabulous teacher. You are going to have a great year! We will benefit from sharing your walk. Thanks for following the spirit and allowing us to grow with you!!

     
  4. Cindy Haskin

    January 6, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    Nanette it has been wonderful to watch you and your whole family grow so much this last year. It will be equally as wonderful to see what God has in store for you this year as well. I think this blog is going to not only help you but many others. There are verses to a song
    that say trust and obey for there is no other way to be happy in Jesus but to trust and obey. Thank you for not only trusting but obeying also and I’m sure that this will help and inspire others as well.

     

Leave a Reply

 
