RSS

Crabby Patties!

30 Jun

Let me start off by saying, I LOVE FOOD!  There’s not a whole lot of it that I don’t like and I’m pretty courageous about trying new foods.  Not only do I love eating food, I love cooking food!

One would think since I have this love affair with food, that I would actually rendezvous with it a bit more.  All things life get in the way, including my own laziness.

Amazingly enough, I have not placed a salad before my family in quite some time (hanging head in shame).  Granted, the boys don’t do back flips over salad, but it’s my duty as their mom to expose them to healthy nutritious food.  I only hope doing so will indeed expand their palates as all the experts proclaim, because the whining and fighting that goes on during any dinner that doesn’t include mac’ n’ cheese is exhausting!

A while back I got Rocco DiSpirito’s cookbook “Now Eat This!”, and have not made much of a dent in working my way through it.  Enter the “Crab Cakes with Red Pepper Dressing” recipe.  Oh sweet perfection!  Granted I did not follow the recipe to a “T”, as my usual, but here is what I did do.

My take on Rocco’s Crab Cakes & Red Pepper Dressing

Makes 8-10 patties

1 cup frozen peas (allowed to thaw, or nuked for a bit)

18 oz fresh crabmeat or high quality canned crabmeat

zest of 1 lemon

1-2 T fresh lemon juice

1 cup mayo (whatever type you use)

5 T chopped fresh chives

1/2 c breadcrumbs (your preference on type)

Salt

Pepper

1 part sesame oil

1 part grapefruit juice

Crushed red-pepper flakes to taste

Preheat broiler.  Cover a baking sheet with foil and spray with non-stick cooking spray.  Combine the first 9 ingredients until you’re sure everything is evenly distributed.  Form into patties and place on the baking sheet.  Broil until they reach a deep golden color and are heated throughout.  For me this took about 10 minutes, I would check around 5 min and watch closely from that point until they reach your desired color.

During that first 5 minutes I whisked together my dressing consisting of the last three ingredients.  Adjust all to taste.

This was served over a package of spring mix salad and our favorite combination of toppings from the local Price Chopper salad bar.  Read The Husbands claims on just how tasty this was!

Of course, the perfect accompaniment was a cold brew!  (Not for the boys.)

Have I mentioned I love food?  And this food was top-notch!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 30, 2011 in Food

 

Tags: ,

Leave a comment