RSS

A Visitor

08 Apr

Last night a long time friend stopped by to visit.  After updating each other on our kids and work, we found ourselves discussing our faith.  Our friend is a fellow believer, but – as I’ve come to find – there are always differences among believers.  The husband and our friend both get quite passionate during discussions, and I tend to sit back and observe, occasionally chiming in here and there.  These discussions, with this friend in particular, are always enjoyed by all parties.  He is one of the few who are able to respectfully disagree, even passionately!  This allows me and the husband to do so as well.

My husband, Bob, has a weight on his shoulders that we’ve been praying a lot about.  He’s even sought out our pastor in hopes of some assistance or direction.  Pastor Dan offered some good advice, “share with friends and family who are also believers and ask them to pray with and for you”.  When we discussed who he’d ask, we couldn’t come up with many names…  We haven’t known so and so for very long.  Is so and so a believer?  Would they judge the weight themselves or seek guidance from God as we’d hoped?

Of all the people we thought of, this friend had not come to mind until last night.  So, Bob opened up this subject by inquiring about our friend’s prayer life.  This is where it again became clear to me how even as believers we’re all in different spots in our journey.  Our friend had his own, very valid, reasons for not feeling comfortable in accepting the prayer request.  This is not to say that he doesn’t pray for us, because I know he does.  But his theology behind prayer is very different from ours, no right or wrong- just different.

This morning I am feeling grateful for another visitor, a presence that has moved in me and taken up permanent residence.  The Holy Spirit that chose to visit little insignificant me, who whispered to me the Truth, who wrapped me in His love and who with me is working through the clutter in my heart to bring me deeper into relationship with my heavenly Father.  The Spirit moves in my heart to pray, to pray a constant prayer asking for my needs, for guidance, to praise and worship, to intercede on others behalf, to seek Him in all things.  Because of the Holy Spirit in me, I don’t doubt my Father knows me, hears me, and speaks to me.  No amount of research and science is going to completely prove or disprove the Truth.

I pray that everyone would be blessed with a visitor, the Holy Spirit, who would convince them of the Truth from the inside out; just as He did for me.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 8, 2011 in Faith

 

Leave a Reply

 
